Organizing Old Photos

This is a long overdue post, but be assured I think of writing often.There just gets to a point where there are only so many hours in the day and unfortunately as much as writing is my leisure time, it ranks zero on my list when the world is pulling at me.

I just wrapped up some of my busiest times at work. It lasted three weeks and I was challenged in ways I never have been before. I’m learning a lot too about designing thing the way I want them to look vs sending them to our creative people to process.

I’ve started walking. It’s hard. I am just no where near where I once was. At the end of the day, I really don’t care much though, I’m doing the best I can.

Then I started the next phase of my photo organization project. Did I tell you, when I thought I was going to die the only thing that kept running through my head was that my photos were so disorganized. I was so upset about it I cried to my mom, “everyone is going to have to come over and help me get my pictures into albums.” Now that you guys are stuck with me a little longer, I still feel the need to get them together, but it is a big damn job. So I started in steps:

First I pulled all my photo boxes out and one by one started organizing them by year:

IMG_1499

If you look close, there is a hilarious picture of me from junior high on the table!

Once I had them sorted by year, I put them into ziplock bags, marked with the year.

IMG_1500

My next step will be going through them by year. Pitching the photos that are blurred or have multiple shots of. After that step is complete I plan to put them into albums. Since I can’t just run out and buy a ton of albums, I have been purchasing one each paycheck.

It was actually a good process. Not only was it great to see baby Erin and loved ones from years past, it gave me a concrete visual of how fast time has flown by and that has sparked my wanting to make sure that I cherish every single day I have here.

Plus, it unearthed beauties like this:

IMG_1514

Yes, that would be me. High School. Band. Enjoy!

Oh, and an update on my heath – I’m just not talking about it right now. I’m basically in the same place. Looks like infection is back. Scheduled for an ultrasound on Monday to determine how they are going to open me back up, i.e., big or little. Don’t worry about me though, I’m just going with the flow.

4 thoughts on “Organizing Old Photos

    • I wish I hadn’t stopped paying, but life happens. Over my most recent move I donated both my instruments to charity because they weren’t doing anyone any good getting dusty. Maybe someone will have an opportunity to play because of it. It is on my bucket list to one day join an adult for fun band because I did love it so much. Did you play an instrument?

  1. LOL – you appreciate music though so that that is good! I don’t know why, but I’m moved to comment further about the picture. As I was reaching the end of high school I was growing disinterested in it and I really had no idea that there were opportunities for me to play in college until I got to college and saw they had a band. By the second semester of my first year of college I already knew I made a mistake by not playing any more and I did try to pick it back up, but as we know all hell broke loose from there. That pictures symbolizes so much to me, I guess that is why I posted in. I look into my eyes in that picture and I still had so much hope and spirit, that girl in the picture had no idea how the world was going to fuck her up, ha! There is a definite and defining before and after of my life.

Leave a Reply

